Bookmark this page
Print    Email
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)
Need a Physician?


 Print this page Print    

CMH Foundation Awards 10 Scholarships to Area Students

(July 25,2011) The Calvert Memorial Hospital Foundation recently announced $27,500 in scholarship awards to 10 area students who are pursuing a career in health care. The awards were presented at a reception held at CMH on July 18.

“The scholarships began as a way of investing in the future of health care,” said CMH President and CEO Jim Xinis, “but they are also an effective way to meet the increasing demand for qualified healthcare professionals in our community.”

Since 1991, the Foundation has awarded 277 scholarships totaling $330,150 to area students with priority to those from Calvert and Anne Arundel counties. The scholarships are awarded annually to support higher education studies in allied health fields.

“We are proud to have such a good pool of candidates and so many young people who are interested in health care,” said Karen O’Brien, who chaired the foundation’s scholarship committee.

This year’s recipients included eight students from Calvert, one from Anne Arundel and one from Charles. Seven are pursuing a degree in nursing, one a master’s, and the others are studying radiography, physical therapy and kinesiology.

The winners are Rachel Bell of St. Leonard who is attending Shenandoah University; Stacey Bitter of Huntingtown who is attending Prince George’s Community College; Caroline Combs of Huntingtown who is attending Walden University; Kathryn Connell of Owings who is attending Robert Morris University; Dwayne Ennis of White Plains who is attending Walden University; Catherine Heim of Dunkirk who is attending Salisbury University; Danica Oak of Dunkirk who is attending Stevenson University Nursing; Jeanette Owens of Huntingtown who is attending the College of Southern Maryland; Claire Supanick of Huntingtown who is attending York College of Pennsylvania and Jamie Wood of Friendship who is attending the University of Maryland.

Recipients are not required to repay the Foundation or accept employment at CMH. Students applying for scholarships must have completed their mandatory studies and have received a letter of acceptance from the institution in their course of study. To obtain an application, call the Foundation office at 410-535-8178 or click here to download the form. The filing deadline is March 15.

Pictured below (l-r) in the front row are 2011 CMH Foundation scholarship recipients Claire Supanick, Dwayne Ennis, Catherine Heim, Jamie Wood, Danica Oak, Rachel Bell, Kathy Connell and Stacey Bitter. In the back row (l-r) are Bob McWhirt, VP for nursing; Kevin Neitmann, treasurer, CMH board of directors; Brooke Steuart, foundation trustee; Karen O’Brien, foundation vice president; Kathy Dickinson, foundation president; CMH President and CEO Jim Xinis, Joe Doswell, foundation treasurer and Terri Wolfley, foundation trustee.

Calvert Online

Calvert Quality